Weekend Recap

Mother’s Day weekend has always been a busy weekend for us but even more so now that I’m a mommy too. We had my in-laws over on Friday night for dinner. We celebrated Mother’s Day brunch for me on Saturday, and then we visited my mother on Sunday. Whew. I’m tired just thinking about it all again.

On Friday, I was in search of a nice table centerpiece for the dinner with my in-laws. I noticed while outside that my knock out roses are starting to bloom. I’ve never really been good at arranging knock outs. I tend to cut the stems too short. Well, I tried to cut these longer, and then I found a lovely milk glass vase (coincidentally gifted to me by my mother-in-law) to arrange them.

DSC_4360

For dessert on Friday night, we had coconut cream pie. Coconut cream pie is a favorite in our family, and it’s a staple in the spring and summer months. I have made this particular recipe about 5 times now, and I think it’s a keeper. This is actually Martha Stewart’s Banana Cream Pie recipe. I omit the bananas and add 1 cup of coconut and 1 teaspoon of vanilla. For the crust, I have found a wonderful gluten free frozen pie crust at Earthfare by a company called Wholly Wholesome. I strongly recommend it. The homemade whipped cream is a must for this pie. When I took the picture below, I hadn’t whipped the cream yet.

DSC_4361

On Saturday, we went to Gourmet’s Market for brunch. Unfortunately they didn’t have my favorite white chocolate pancakes (sigh). I survived though with some yummy french toast. After brunch, we had some time to kill before swim lessons. I’ve been hearing about an animal park in Strawberry Plains called Circle G Ranch. It’s basically a drive thru zoo. We drove there and were shocked at how many animals live there – over 500 to be exact. Even more shocking was how tame the animals were. We rolled our windows down to enjoy the view, and the animals approached our car and stuck their heads right in. Honestly, it scared me at first. I just wasn’t expecting it. The animals were not aggressive, just very comfortable with people. There were a couple of rogue Ostrich that wouldn’t leave us alone, but other than that, no incidents. Ruby Kate has continued to talk about Circle G Ranch. Here are some of my close-ups.

DSC_4374 DSC_4380 DSC_4407

We ended the weekend with a delicious strawberry cake from Litton’s. Now, I have no idea how I’m going to refrain from eating 3 pieces a day for the rest of the week!

Image

Leave a Reply

