Goat Cheese Biscuits

Image

I’m enjoying reading, “Bread & Wine, a love letter to life around the table with recipes,” by Shauna Niequist. I’m almost finished reading the book, but I really wish I had saved this one for a book club. Reading this book makes me feel like I’m sitting at a local coffee-house, sipping on a latte, and talking to a dear, dear friend. I have laughed, and I have cried. I was only a couple of chapters in when I stopped, logged onto Amazon and ordered another one for my best friend.

So, Niequist shares many recipes throughout her book. There are several that I will try, but up first I tried the Goat Cheese Biscuits. I substituted gluten-free flour for the regular flour. We have been searching for a great gluten-free biscuit for sometime now. This is it!! It is perfectly buttery and crunchy and delicious. I can barely taste the goat cheese, but it’s nice. Also, I think it’s very important that you use the cast iron skillet as she recommends.  If you are serving more than 3-4, you should double the recipe.

Goat Cheese Biscuits *Adapted from a recipe created by Art Smith, Table Fifty-Two

Makes 12

Ingredients

2 cups flour (I used Cup4Cup Gluten Free Flour Blend)

3 teaspoons baking powder

3 teaspoons salt

1 cup plain yogurt or buttermilk (I used buttermilk)

6 tablespoons cold butter, divided

4 tablespoons goat cheese, crumbled

Extra butter to grease pan and top biscuits

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated

Instructions

Preheat oven to 425 degrees and place a 10-inch cast-iron pan into the oven while it’s preheating.

Pour flour, baking powder, and salt into a medium-sized bowl. Cut 4 tablespoons butter into small pieces and add to the bowl with goat cheese and the yogurt. Stir until the mix is moistened, adding an extra tablespoon of yogurt if needed.

Remove the hot skillet from the oven and place a tablespoon of butter into it. When the butter has melted, divide the batter into 12 biscuits (about golf ball size) and drop them into the pan.

Brush the biscuits with one tablespoon of melted butter, then bake for 14-16 minutes. (I had to bake mine for about 20 minutes on the top rack). Remove from oven and sprinkled with grated Parmesan cheese.

Leave a comment