Craft Day

A couple of weeks ago, I hosted a craft day for my nieces and nephews. I have been intending on doing this for awhile, and I knew we had to schedule it before everyone goes back to school and life gets crazy. So I gathered up my supplies, headed to my Mom’s house, and started crafting away. My niece, Addie, and my nephew, Zeke, came to participate. We had so much fun, and only had one craft that was a fail. Here are the crafts we completed.

Coasters

This craft is all over Pinterest. We used inexpensive floor tiles, scrapbook paper, cork backing and modpodge to make these delightful coasters. The kids were so proud of these. They made them as gifts for their mothers. Here’s a great tutorial on how to make these coasters. Next time I’m going to try this project using fabric instead of scrapbook paper.

ImageImage

Duct Tape Handbags

This is a great project for kids. Duct tape is everywhere. I see it all the time in all these really trendy prints and colors. I purchased some, in boy and girl prints, before I even knew what we would do with it. I did a search and quickly found this duct tape handbag tutorial. Using only a garbage bag and duct tape, this craft was simple. Once I got the kids started, they were finished in no time.ImageImage

Chalkboard Composition Notebook

I didn’t take a picture of this one. We took very inexpensive composition notebooks and painted them with chalkboard paint. The result was a really cool back to school notebook the kids can write on with chalk. Here’s theĀ tutorial.

Melted Crayon Shapes

This craft was a disaster, and we almost caught the house on fire. We tried to melt broken crayons together to make interesting and fun color combinations. It did not work. The crayons just melted together into a brown color. I need to go back to the drawing board on this one.

Except for the crayons, our craft day was a success. I told the kids we will try hard to have another craft day before Christmas. I can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

